Diaper talk…

{Be Advised: The title of this post does not lie.  This post is 100% about…diapers.  Consider yourself warned…}

I know this will sound odd to some {or maybe to all}, but I love our diapers.  I do.  I admit it.

I love them because:

1 – They save us money!  $$

2 – They look so cute on Z’s little baby bum.

3 – They save us money! $$

4 – Oh, & they probably help out the planet too.

Now on to the diapers.  I realize these may not be for everyone.  But for us they work great, so I thought I’d pass on the info!

We use the Flip Diapers, & we flippin’ love them! {sorry just had to…}.  A pack comes with 2 covers & 6 cloth inserts.  Which is awesome because unlike All-In-One cloth diapers (where you stuff the insert), these covers can be used again if not dirty – you just have to change the cloth insert! So handy.

The covers come in a variety of colors & have great snaps.

I did A LOT of research before biting the cloth diaper bullet…& I mean A LOT.  I wanted to be sure we were making the right decision because cloth diapers are an investment.  We want them to last a long time, so we wanted to know we were purchasing quality diapers.  One thing I love about these is that you can get One Size, which means the diaper will “grow” with your babe, depending on how it’s snapped/unsnapped, & how the insert is folded.

 

The price of these babies is very reasonable compared to other cloth diaper systems {I’m talking new, not consignment – which is AWESOME if you are able to score some on sale or consigned!}  A pack {2 covers & 6 inserts} runs between $50-60, depending on what kind of insert (stay-dry or organic) you decide to get.

We purchased 3 packs, & I usually wash diapers every other day.  Trust me, it sounds worse than it is.  Especially since I feel like I am doing the little man’s laundry all the time, diapers or not.  {How do little people go through so much laundry?  It’s amazing, really.} Anyway, all that to say, don’t let the washing scare you away.  It’s really easy & becomes just like second nature after a while.  And I love that I never have to worry about having to run to the store for diapers!

Our diaper system looks something like this:

 

I also love that you can purchase disposable inserts for your Flips.  Which has come in very handy on road trips, where you don’t want to have to worry about diaper laundry.

I would also like to add that the other night we had to use one of our “back-up” diapers {because all our Flips were in the wash} & it was the first night since we’ve started using cloth diapers that Z woke up sopping wet because his diaper ‘sprung-a-leak’.  Can I just say that being woken up in the middle of the night because of a leaky diaper is very UNCOOL, absolutely no bueno, & makes for a crabby mama.  So, needless to say, we do not recommend our “back-up” diapers {Rump-A-Rooz} as a good choice when it comes to cloth diapers.

If you have a baby & are interested in biting the cloth-diaper-bullet, I HIGHLY recommend Cotton Babies.  They are a FABULOUS company.  We ordered all our Flips through them.  They sell other quality cloth diapers, as well, & are VERY informative! 🙂

http://www.cottonbabies.com/

 

Happy Diapering!

 

3 thoughts on “Diaper talk…

  1. I love how you just did a whole post about diapers…and I read it. The whole thing…and I don’t even have kids! I just love your family and miss them that much…so much I want to read about Zane’s diapers! hehe 🙂 I’m SO glad they are working out for you so well! I didn’t know you started using cloth wet wipes also, that’s probably saving a lot of money. Miss you and love you!

Leave a Reply

